Why I can’t invite you over

image

Dear friends on my “to-invite” list

One of these days we have to get together
I think we’d get along
We want to get to know you better
but there’s a problem
I can’t invite you over

Can’t pick up the phone
Can’t set a date
Can’t plan for 5:30
Can’t say dinner would be great
Can’t invite you over

Because I know 5:30 around here
It’s laundry on the couch
backpacks blocking the door
lunch left-overs on the table
and a baby with dried snot in her eyebrows

Five-thirty is look-at-this-house! time
How-could-I-be-so-unproductive? time
It’s towels on the bathroom floor
a clatter of cans waiting to be recycled
and piles of junk-mail in the kitchen

If I call you for dinner it will be grand

Except

My husband will be later than expected
All smiles for company but grimaces for hubby
I’ll forget about drinks and only offer water
When the food is finally ready I’ll have to nurse my baby
then finish setting a mismatched table

No, I cannot invite you over
Can’t offer my home
Propose a meal
Or promise perfection
We simply cannot get together

Unless

You show up at my door unannounced
The surprise, my alibi
An excuse for cans and clutter
I’ll move the folded underwear and offer you a seat
You will stay for supper because there is always enough

I will offer you a glass of water in a jar
because all my cups will be in the dishwasher
It won’t tinkle with ice-cubes but it will be wet
Nearly perfect
And I’ll be so glad I didn’t invite you

6 thoughts on “Why I can’t invite you over

    • This was so good! I also loved the pictures and writing of when we were in Port Angeles. Thanks so much for going west this spring.

  1. Michelle, that makes me happy you feel that way.
    Mom, I loved reliving it while I wrote that post on our time in WA.
    Jaimee, I was hoping I wasn’t the only one who feels this way on a Friday night. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Oh Tricia. You always make us all feel so welcome! My boys (and I) love your hospitable spirit and open door. Sad to say that the husbands may always be later than we want them to be though ….

Leave a Reply

