Keep Calm and Chew On

DSCN7903_

violets

This week we had a meal largely based around wild asparagus and violets.

“If you’re really good, I’ll let you sprinkle violets on your asparagus,” I say to the girls, trying to bait them.

But Susanna doesn’t fall for it. “Um, can we have crackers instead?” she barters, because any boxed or packaged product is innately superior to something fresh mom might have picked just before dinner.

Belén doesn’t balk at the violets, and even comments on their sweet fragrance, but is starting to get sick of the asparagus that shows up daily. Staring bleakly at her plate of buttered spears she mutters, “Keep calm and chew on.”

Foraging may not be the way to my family’s heart, or very practical, but it does make me notice a lot more than I used to. Keeping an eye out for wild edibles is like writing; it helps me pay attention. I’ve always been interested in wild-crafting, even as a kid, but I’ve learned much more about the plants around me in the last several years. Who knew spruce had tips? I didn’t. And violets? I thought they were a pretty little flower with a nice name but I don’t think I’d ever seen one before. I mean, really seen one. Now it’s hard not to see them–on people’s yards, boulevards, school playgrounds, and parks—because they’re everywhere. Going for a walk along an over-grown ditch in summer can be as overstimulating as a shopping mall on a busy day. My eyes rove over the foliage looking for feathery fronds (indicating a meal of asparagus next spring), rose bushes, plantain, or any other species I’m looking for. Elderberry is currently at the top of my list.

DSCN7906_

asparagus and apple blossom bouquet

Foraging is most exciting in spring though, when gardens are a muddy promise and the air is redolent with wild growth. When frothy green poplar leaves are still unfurling, it’s time to head out with a sharp knife. (I always feel less self-conscious on the return trip when I have something to explain the weapon in my hands.) Come July, beans, tomatoes and berries will outshine spruce tips and cattails, but for now that’s what’s on tap and after a long winter, I’m parched.

Speaking of gardens, mine is still not entirely planted. Fortunately, we’ve significantly decreased the amount of space I’ll seed next year by adding more perennial edibles (a hazelnut, grapes, saskatoons, and more raspberries and strawberries). We don’t have a huge garden to start with, but I’m alright giving up some of my vegetable space for fruit. At least I know I won’t be the only one eating the end result, pretending my hours of digging, seeding, planting, weeding, watering and picking are NO BIG DEAL while certain people choke their way through a harvest meal. But it’ll be a while before we can fill baskets with fruit from our yard. At this point we’re counting every single blossom on our plum and cherry trees. Last year our blueberries didn’t grow at all; in fact, I think they shrank. The season before we harvested two blueberries. Two. And split them in half so all four of us could have a nibble.

So for now, we’re mostly dependent on annual crops. Thank goodness for fall seeding and transplants or we wouldn’t have anything fresh at all. The flea beetles have devoured my spring-planted arugula and radishes and I’m beginning to see damage from cutworm and slugs. Everything I seeded in fall is soldering on ahead of the pests…

DSCN7910_

The lettuce patches remind me of chocolate-vanilla swirl ice cream, except in red and green.

DSCN7912_

Chamomile is the feathery seedling on the lower left. Calendula is the long, oval-leafed one in the rest of the photo.

DSCN7913_

garlic (with cilantro and chamomile that need to be thinned/weeded)

And lastly, something totally unrelated to the rest of this post: a picture for the those of you who asked. My apologies to those who didn’t.

DSCN7916_

Not a very artistic photo but at least my shirt matches the mess on the cabinet. Seven weeks to go.

Have a beautiful weekend.

Tricia

7 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Chew On

  1. You are definitely growing more beautifully than your spring planted garden! The red and green swirl looks delicious though, we love our early lettuces and spinach.
    Blessings,

  2. Oh how you make me smile! How do you come up with these turns of phrases?

    “Come July, beans, tomatoes and berries will outshine spruce tips and cattails, but for now that’s what’s on tap and after a long winter, I’m parched.”

    Love it! On tap, great description. Also, what do you do with calendula? Your garlic is so big already! I missed the fall planting and went for spring planting of garlic, do I have any chance? Should I leave them in until next summer? It’s fun to see them poking up. We had some volunteer lettuce this year, which made me cheery, and some beets and onions as well. And I hear you on the groans at the supper table – I’ll convince myself it all tastes fantastic even if it doesn’t – if I’ve grown it. I remember Luke saying he preferred lettuce from Superstore. But today I saw Sam tenderly watering and Anna ripping off lilacs to give to our neighbour, so I have a small glimmer of hope that they will love growing things little by little.
    I would love, with all my heart, to go foraging with you, weapons in hand. That is now on my life to do list, so if I show up at your door some spring, don’t be too surprised.
    GREAT POST! And of course, you look fabulous. What a gorgeous woman you are with that round, perfect belly. I miss having a justifiable tummy, enjoy yours!

  3. Thanks ladies!

    Corinna, I think your garlic should be fine. Winnipeg is warmer than here. I usually harvest mine at the end of July, so if yours takes until late August, that is okay. Harvest the garlic when a third? (google that) of the leaves are dried and brown. Last year was my first year growing calendula. It’s a medicinal plant and it attracts pollinators. I’ve infused it into oil and also used the petals in rice pilafs. Plus, it looks pretty. 🙂
    I like Sam’s comment about superstore lettuce. I’ve heard similar remarks at my house.

  4. I feel much better now that I’ve seen a current pregnancy picture and some pictures of your garden! I’m looking forward to seeing you and the garden in person shortly!

Leave a Reply

