Dilly potatoes: A taste of summer

DSCN6487_

fresh dill

Like most people, I learned a lot about food, or rather, other people’s food after I left home. I became fast friends with the first real-life vegetarian I’d ever met, and hung out with people who talked about artichokes and could pronounce the term “quesadilla” perfectly.  I remember one food discussion, in particular, where I enthusiastically shared my provincial tastes.

“I love ham,” I told them. “At my wedding, I want lots and lots of platters piled high with chunks of ham. Can you imagine anything better?”

The silence that followed, communicated they could, indeed, imagine something better. Salmon, maybe, or perhaps an herbed, skinless chicken breast, but definitely not pork.

DSCN6489_

fry onions before adding dill

And at that point, I realized food is cultural. The meals you grow up with carry all kinds of meaning that isn’t always apparent to others. When I think of summer, one dish immediately comes to mind, and until recently, I thought it was a universal response. My mom gently broke the truth to me when she told me “not everybody eats boiled potatoes with dill, onions and butter.” I can scarcely believe this to be true, and I’m hoping someone will tell me otherwise if it isn’t. But, If some of you have never slathered new potatoes with fried dill and onions, then this recipe is for you. I think it should be called summer.

Summer

potatoes (boil them with lots of salt–pour more in than you think you should)

butter (again, more than a reasonable amount)

lots of chopped onions (one onion per person)

lots of chopped, fresh dill (the green feathery part, not the seed head)

Fry onions in butter until soft and golden, then add dill and let it warm. Soften potatoes with a fork and dress with dill mixture. Eat, and keep commenting to your dinner companions how good it tastes.

By the way, this goes great with ham or fatty chicken skin!

DSCN6490_

Buen provecho,

Tricia

9 thoughts on “Dilly potatoes: A taste of summer

  1. Looks delicious!! I agree, you can not beat dilly potatoes and you can really never make too many onions and dill…it will always get eaten (or maybe just in our family 🙂 )

  2. Hey Tricia, do you and Stan still use the apple press he made years ago in WInnipeg? If so, we’d love to see a post about that! (And so would some new friends of ours…)

    • Hi Jaimee, thanks for bringing back some tasty memories… we (as in Stan) made a couple different presses and now we have no idea what we did with them. They probably morphed into something else. I told Stan about your comment and his eyes lit up so maybe we’ll have to try making something again this year. Good luck with your apples… do you have your own tree/s?

Leave a Reply

