Congratulations…

You are eligible to host a couple of cross-continent bike-trippers if you click on this link!

But you must act fast–opportunities like this don’t come along very often–and blog readers across the country may be emailing their offers as you read these lines!!

The sun!

(photos from their blog)

******

…Hey, everyone! My intro to this post is not a snippet of “junk mail” but a shameless request to ask friends and readers to open their homes (and warm showers) to our friends, Jesse and Jackie. I met them yesterday. On the side of the road. In the middle of nowhere. (Well, not exactly the middle of nowhere, but at a small-town visitor’s info centre, 100 km from my home.)

At first, I just smiled and said hello. Then when I noticed their bikes, I asked where they were coming from.

“We started in San Diego and made our way to Prince Rupert, BC. Now we’re heading to St. John’s, Newfoundland.”

We chatted a while longer before I wished them well and said good-bye. As I pulled out of the parking lot, it occurred to me they might like a bed to sleep in that night. I turned around, rolled down my window, inviting them to stay with us, and they accepted. When I told my girls two bikers were coming to stay the night, their faces lit up and Susanna exclaimed, “They’ll tell us all their stories!”

And they did. They’re well-traveled, well-educated, well-mannered, and they don’t stink. Especially if you offer them a shower. We visited late into the night and through this morning’s breakfast. They’ll be passing through Winnipeg, Thunder Bay, and the rest of eastern Canada, so some of you still have a chance to host them and hear their stories. I won’t mention any names here, but you know who you are! 🙂 They’ll be checking their email for invitations and will respond back with their anticipated arrival times: emailus@arbutustrillium.ca.

In other news, we just returned from fiddle and guitar camp and all we can think about are jigs and reels. I can’t even type without hearing a jiggety-jiggety-jig rhythm, but I’ll post about that some other time…

Enjoy the rest of your weekend–all you hospitable people!

Tricia

2 thoughts on “Congratulations…

  1. Pingback: A parenting predicament and homemade mosquito spray | Experimenting as we grow

Leave a Reply

