For Corinna: salt, soup, and more

“Where did you get that bowl, mom?” She asks me, while staring at a crude piece of pottery sitting on our book shelf. “Can you tell me the story?”

Lately, the girls have been asking us the story behind the stuff in our home. Fortunately we live in the type of house where almost everything has a story: it’s either been handmade, thrifted, or given to us.

I jump off the couch, grab our Bolivia photo album and start flipping through the pictures, but Susanna stops me before I get very far.

“Wait,” she says, placing her hand firmly on the plastic pages. “I didn’t know Daddy knew how to cook!” She is staring at a picture of her Dad kneading bread.

“He doesn’t cook much now, does he? He used to cook a lot.” I say it kind of wistfully, but not because I’m disgruntled; I’m quite happy with our roles around the home. Rather, I’m remembering how he wooed me with some tomato, basil, and jalapeño soup…

After looking at the pictures I decide I will make the soup for old time’s sake.

Frozen tomatoes, ready to be peeled (with the help of hot water).

Frozen tomatoes, ready to be peeled (with the help of hot water) for soup.

DSCN4946_

Jalapeño and Sweet Basil. I don’t add very much jalapeño… (maybe 1/3 of the pepper), hoping the girls will eat it.

DSCN4947_

Sauté garlic, jalapeños and onions in oil. Add tomatoes and basil and simmer. It will be pretty mushy by this point. Cut up the chunks with 2 knives or blend in food processor. Add cream, al gusto, and thicken with flour or cornstarch. Add anything else you think it needs …

DSCN4954_

tomatoe, basil and jalapeño soup

I learned many things living in Bolivia; one was how to make soup. I remember watching women dice up shriveled carrots, peel potatoes (leaving only wisps of curled skin), toast rice, gather parsley a few feet away from their fire, and produce bowls of soup–all without consulting a recipe book. I realized then that cooking is not so much plodding through directions as working magic with whatever ingredients you have on hand.

DSCN5204_

chopped, dried apricots

Sometimes, ok–very rarely, the magic awes the audience. Most of the time though, I feel like I have to persuade the crowd to give me a chance. Like last week; I made roast chicken with apricots, almonds, ginger and cream, set it on the table with a flourish… and my dinner companions eyed it skeptically.

“It’s called Tuscan Chicken” I say, sure that someone, somewhere in Tuscany, has eaten a roasted bird with nuts and fruit before.DSCN5203_

I end up having Tuscan Chicken for lunch the next day, the day after that, and the day after that.

Last week I picked up An Everlasting Meal: Cooking with Economy and Grace on a whim. I was drawn by it’s cover, and although I’m not particularly interested in food writing, I brought it home anyway.

I find recipe books tiresome, even ones with beautiful, mouth-watering photographs. Tamar Adler’s book is not a recipe book. It is a book with recipes embedded in essays on grace, living well, and “snatching victory from the jaws of defeat.” If you are mildly interested in eating or good writing, I highly recommend it. It is the kind of book that makes you want to make mayonnaise from scratch at eleven o’clock at night, and stock your cupboards with anchovies.

Today, it made me start on a soup of roasted cauliflower. The recipe, of course, is non-existent.

DSCN5267_

Adler recommends roasting vegetables with everything they’ve got: core, leaves and all!

DSCN5269_

She also recommends things like a “long pour of olive oil” and “more salt than you think”. I’ve followed through on these vegetables.

…But, enough of soup and salt, let’s get back to the pottery on my bookshelf. I am trying to find a picture of Sabina, the Guaraní lady who made it for me, to show Susanna. When we study the photo together I’m amazed that something in my 1950’s bungalow has come from the other end of the earth.

Watch this 4 min. video clip and you’ll see what I mean. We found it the other day when Stan was doing some research on animal traction. Stan traveled to the Guaraní community (and met some of the men) featured here; it also shows some of what our life was like.  

Have a tasty weekend,

Tricia

12 thoughts on “For Corinna: salt, soup, and more

  1. Several things in this post made me laugh out loud. Thanks for the interesting read. 🙂 Also, I didn’t know you could freeze tomatoes whole…thanks for the tip!

  2. I will definitely check out the book, thank you Tricia!
    So, what was the verdict on the soup? As far as your Tuscan chicken goes, I distinctly remember a supper of apple-rice stuffed chicken in our parts that was about as well received, despite my enthusiasm. I think we should just cook for each other, I would definitely gush over that tasty looking Tuscan chicken!
    The Bolivian video was beautiful, I can perfectly picture you working alongside them and learning the secrets of a tasty soup.

  3. I’ve enjoyed some great Stan-flipped pancakes!
    I love that everything in your home has a story…it makes me smile to sit on your couch and remember sitting on it when we first met in your childhood home.
    Love you!

  4. Marisa, I remember all of you girls on that couch in our farmhouse too. Oh, it would have so many stories to tell. It feels so homey everytime we come to your place, Tricia. Thanks for appreciating it. Love you all. Mom

Leave a Reply

