Good Words: Our Real Stories

I wish I had been in Nairobi, Kenya, a few Sundays ago to hear my friend, Kirsten, deliver her homily.

I knew she had been invited to speak at a church service, so I emailed her yesterday to ask how it went.  She attached the homily she had written with her email response.  I opened it up and soon after I started reading, looked at the little square that slides down the right side of my computer screen, to gauge how much I had left to read.  I was hoping there would be much more and didn’t want it to end any too soon!

Near the beginning of her text, she included this quote from Frederick Buechner:

“…we may tell stories about ourselves as well about other people, but not, for the most part,

our real stories,

not stories about what lies beneath all our other problems,

which is the problem of being human, the problem of trying to hold fast somehow to Christ when much of the time, both in ourselves and in our world, it is as if Christ had never existed.

…[we] tell what costs us the least to tell and what will gain [us] the most; and to tell the story of who we really are

and the battle between light and dark, between belief and unbelief, between sin and grace that is waged within us

all costs plenty

and may not gain us anything, we’re afraid, but an uneasy silence and a fishy stare.”

You can read more here.  I just ordered the book from my library!

*My own end of the week tradition: words in song or story that move me in some way.  I might type my very favourite parts in bold text, and I’ll always try to post a link below the quote so you can get more if you want it. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Good Words: Our Real Stories

  1. I have to confess that that’s one of the main reasons I don’t blog…not really sure I want to open the blinds on my soul…to others OR myself! I enjoy reading your blog, Tricia, and feel like I’ve gotten to know you better through it (you write more than you speak). So maybe people don’t call you as often now because they feel like they’ve “caught up” with you by reading your blog?

    • Maybe (about the calls)… I haven’t been home much this fall, so I haven’t noticed… but now that I think of it, I think you’re right…. It’s not really fair, is it? Perhaps people could leave really long-winded comments–seeing as they are already here–that include juicy details about their lives and then sign off using a psuedonym. And I’ll still see their email address and know who it is.:)

      Also, thanks for your comment Janelle. I’m honoured that people take the time to read the rabbit trails of my mind.
      T

Leave a Reply

