Good Words: Dimming of the Day

I was first introduced to Richard Thompson’s music in a dingy cabin that smelled of fish and smoke, on the shores of Great Slave Lake, N.W.T.  It was the summer of 1997 and Thompson, a British singer/songwriter, had been recording music for over 25 years by that point, but I had never heard of him.

Here is a ballad with good harmonies he wrote and sang with his wife, from the album Pour Down Like Silver (1975).

This old house is falling down around my ears
I’m drowning in a river of my tears
When all my will is gone you hold me sway
I need you at the dimming of the day

You pull me like the moon pulls on the tide
You know just where I keep my better side…

Come the night you’re only what I want
Come the night you could be my confident…

I need you at the dimming of the day
I need you at the dimming of the day

I skipped some parts in the song, but those are the lines I like best.  (I’ve been thinking of that last phrase all week, especially as we move towards night in our home.)

You can hear it here.  I recommend you listen to it when you are not rushed.  It is slow… slow…  slow–and beautiful; something that goes with candles and a glass of wine or a cup of tea.

He also sings it with Bonie Raitt, and I like their version just as well.  It’s a little more throaty.  You can watch, and listen to them here.

Happy Friday!  Happy weekend!  Now go hum the song to your special someone…

*My own end of the week tradition: words in song or story that move me in some way.  I might type my very favourite parts in bold text, and I’ll always try to post a link, or two, so you can get more if you want it. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Good Words: Dimming of the Day

  1. Ahhhh….such timing. Just last night I played Vincent Black Lightning 1952 for friends of mine (music buffs who had also never heard of Richard Thompson), along with the tale of our first summer on Great Slave together! Memories….

      • whoa,whoa,whoa. this was a crazy moment for me. for the last 16 years i have been humming a song that i once heard at a coffee shop in estes park. i went with a friend, we listened to a guy play music, and the words stuck with me forever. i’ve always wondered who that was, what the rest of the music was, etc, but every few weeks i look at one of my girls and the hum the words “she was a rare thing, fine as a beeswing…” then there was “beeswing” in your comment and i googled it and there was that entire song and there is the guy i saw all those years ago and always always wondered about. thank you.

      • !!!!!!!!
        Wow! You remembered the song for that long!
        It does stick in your mind doesn’t it? I LOVE that line; “fine as a beeswing”. Thompson came to Folkfest one year and sang it on the mainstage, but it wouldn’t be nearly the same as hearing him in a small coffee shop. The effect was kind of lost with thousands of people and the throng of diapered children around me. I’m glad this solved your little mystery!
        T

Leave a Reply

